The UK welcomes back Chinese groups

China lifts the ban to allow group tours to return to the UK

The Chinese Central Government lifted the ban with immediate effect to enable group tours to return to the UK and Ireland and 75 other countries for the first time since the pandemic.

In 2019, China was the most valuable outbound market globally, and the second most valuable inbound market for the UK. So this is a welcome development.

The British Educational Travel Association is working with the Department for Business and Trade to bring a delegation of Chinese buyers to the UK to take part in our Youth & Student Travel Summit in Manchester on 16th October.

Statement from the Chinese Government

The culture and tourism departments (bureaus) of all provinces, autonomous regions, and municipalities directly under the Central Government, and the Culture, Sports, Radio, Television, and Tourism Bureau of Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps

Since the resumption of the pilot program of travel agencies operating outbound group tours for Chinese citizens to relevant countries, the overall outbound tourism market has been operating smoothly and orderly, which has played a positive role in promoting tourism exchanges and cooperation. In order to implement the decisions and deployments of the Party Central Committee and the State Council, and further serve economic and social development, we hereby notify the following matters concerning the resumption of travel agencies operating Chinese citizens’ outbound group tours to relevant countries and reg ions (the third batch ):

1. Schedule From now on, national travel agencies and online travel companies will be resumed to operate outbound group tours and “air ticket + hotel” business for Chinese citizens to relevant countries and regions (the third batch).

2. List of countries Asia: Oman, Pakistan, Bahrain, South Korea, Qatar, Lebanon, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Japan, Turkey, Israel, India

Africa: Algeria, Ethiopia, Benin, Botswana, Equatorial Guinea, Cape Verde, Ghana, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Rwanda,          Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Seychelles, Sao Tome and Principe, Tunisia

Europe: Ireland, Estonia, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina,              Poland, Germany, Finland, Netherlands, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg,             Romania, Malta , Monaco, Norway , Sweden, Cyprus, Slovakia, United Kingdom

North America: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Grenada, Costa Rica, United States, Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago,              Jamaica

South America: Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Guyana, Suriname, Venezuela

Oceania: Australia, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Commonwealth of the Northern        Mariana Islands, French Polynesia, French New Caledonia

All localities should strengthen responsibility, guide travel agencies to strictly implement various systems and norms for group travel management, implement the “one group, one report” system, strengthen supervision and inspection of travel agencies and online travel companies, effectively maintain the order of the tourism market, and protect the legitimate rights and interests of tourists.
Source: General Office of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism
Published 14 August